What Are The Chakras

Learn about the chakras and how they effect you.

Inside all of us lies hundreds of energy centers of spiritual power, each are connected to organs and glands and play a role in the balance and function of our body. These centers are called chakras, a term comes from Indian religions that means Wheel of Energy. In the big and small of it, chakras are responsible for transforming and managing the energy from our physical body with our psychological, emotional, mental, and non-physical energies. The most common chakras are the & Chakras. We will start here:

IMG_1724 (1).jpg

The Crown - Sahasrara

The Crown chakra relates to higher consciousness, enlightenment, and inspiration. Located above the crown of the head, this Head Center chakra is related to the power of consciousness and corresponds with the universal self and divine reality. 

SAHASRARA (Crown Chakra) Meaning: thousand petals

Location: above the crown

Function: higher consciousness, enlightenment, inspiration,

Imbalance Symptoms: depression, inability to learn, sensitivity to light, sound environment, fear of alienation, issues with self-knowledge.

Balanced Results: live in the present and trust in inner self


The Third Eye - Ajna

As the sixth of the body’s seven chakras, the Third Eye lies between the eyebrows and is the only chakra in the mental body. As such, it’s the center of command and corresponds with intuition, insight, and psychic awareness. Furthermore, the Third Eye chakra affords us the ability to connect to elements beyond the five senses and controls the individual self and power of inner perception.

AJNA (Third Eye Chakra) Meaning: command or perceiving

Location: between the eyebrows

Function: intuition, insight, psychic awareness ESP,

Imbalance Symptoms: moodiness, volatility, exaggerated imagination, hearing loss, sinus issues, hormone function

Balanced Results: feelings of clarity & focus, better determination between truth and illusion


The Throat - Vishuddha

Located in the throat area, this chakra is the energy center for creativity, speech, individual needs, and will. It’s known for its purity and relates to the power of communication by connecting with the ether, the respiratory system, and higher intelligence. This is the second chakra in the Emotional Body.

VISHUDDHA (Throat Chakra) Meaning: pure or purification

Location: throat area

Function: personal truth expression, creativity, speech, individual needs & will

Imbalance Symptoms: throat ailments, facial problems, neck/shoulder pain, no willpower, issues of self-expression

Balanced Results: free flowing words of expression, honest & truthful, good listener


The Heart - Anahata

As one of two energy centers in the Emotional Body, the Heart chakra lies in the middle of the chest and is responsible for emotions and feelings like love, forgiveness, compassion, and self-esteem. Not surprisingly, the heart triggers emotions of love and devotion and corresponds with the element air.

ANAHATA (Heart Chakra) Meaning: colors our life with compassion, love & beauty

Location: middle of chest

Function: love, forgiveness, compassion, self-esteem

Imbalance Symptoms: heart disease, lymphatic systems, shoulder problems, over-loving, jealousy, anger, fear of loneliness

Balanced Results: joy, gratitude, love & compassion, trust


The Navel - Manipura

As the last energy center in the physical body, the Navel chakra is considered the Solar Plexus and relates to the element of fire. The chakra, also known as the City of Gems, closely corresponds with the emotion anger and is responsible for energies like desire, vitality, inner strength, and self-control. Lastly, the Navel chakra relates to the element of fire and governs the digestive system and ego impulse.

MANIPURA (Navel Chakra) Meaning: gem,

Location: solar plexus

Function: desire, vitality, inner strength, self control

Imbalance Symptoms: digestive problems, liver dysfunction, chronic fatigue, stomach issues, self esteem issues, fear of rejection or criticism

Balanced Results: self-respect, self-compassion, in control, assertive, confident

IMG_1722 (1).JPG

The Sacral - Svadhisthana

Located above the genitals, the Sacral chakra is referred to as the Abode of Kundalini, or the center of energy that is yet to realize its potential. Because of its location, the Sacral chakra relates to the water element and controls emotions that center around relationships, sexuality, and intimacy such as desire.

SVADHISTHANA (Sacral Chakra) Meaning: creativity & sexuality

Location: above genitals

Function: relationships, sexuality, intimacy, emotions, creativity

Imbalance Symptoms: sexual & reproductive issues, urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions, hip, pelvic & low back pain, relationship commitment issues, fear of betrayal or impotence, lack of ability to express emotions

Balanced Results: ability to take risks, creative, committed, passionate, sexual, outgoing


The Root - Muladhara

The Root chakra lies below the genitals and is the first of three physical body energy centers. As the center for survival, security, and primal energy, the Root chakra is connected to the Earth Element and relates to your natural survival instincts and emotions, especially fear.

MULADHARA (Root Chakra) Meaning: root;support or base

Location: below genitals

Function: survival, security, primal energy, safety, right to live

Imbalance Symptoms: eating disorders, excessive negativity or cynicism, greed, avarice excessive feelings of insecurity

Balanced Results: safety to the physical world, grounded feeling of support


If you enjoyed this you may also like:

chakra crystal photo.jpg

Really Know Yourself!

Get to really know yourself and all the tools you can use to balance yourself mind, body, and spirit. If you love the chakras and you are intrigued to learn more about them like what to eat, what essential oils to use, and what yoga sequences to do to help you stay in alignment then take my course. You can take this course alone or you can get complete balance and get it when you sign up for my Chakra Package.


Meditation for beginners

So many people find it difficult to meditate. We are a go go go society. Here are my tips and tricks to start a meditation practice. Learn more here:


Copyright © 2017 Rebecca Packard, All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use